Former Pupils

Since its inception in 1878, there have been more than 10,000 pupils who have attended Kelso High School. We are always interested to hear from our former pupils and urge that if you have any news that you contact us.

Many of our former pupils have gone on to achieve great success in their life after school - either in business, education, sport or the arts. Each year, the Freedom of Kelso High School is awarded to a former pupil of the school in recognition of his / her outstanding achievements. Award winners to date are:-

  • Kevin Young - Former Pupil, Radio & TV Journalist / Presenter
  • Charles Robertson, KHS Rector 1999 - 2011
  • Ross W Ford, ex pupil, British Lions player
  • John Cawthorn, Ex pupil and Patron of the School
  • Anna King, Jolomo Landscape Award 2007 + David Hay, teacher and Principal Teacher of Art (1978 - 2008)
  • Margaret Riddell, Provost of Kelso
  • John Wallace, ex pupil and Patron of the School
  • J Sinclair Watson, teacher, Principal teacher of Mathematics, Assistant Head Teacher and Depute Rector at Kelso High School (1968 - 2005)
  • Thomas Maconochie, ex pupil and Patron of the School
  • Bryan Redpath, Captain of the Scottish World Cup Rugby Squad 2003
  • Alistair Moffat, Author and Television Executive
  • Sir William Purves, International Businessman
  • James Nicolson, Teacher and Principal Teacher of Economics at Kelso High School (1960 - 2000)